Combing back after quitting.

This is one of my earliest UI design files, which I created in 2019 in one of my attempts to learn User Interface Design, it has no design on it as you can see, and here is why;

Screenshot 2022-10-12 at 10.07.10.png

You probably know me as a product designer amongst many other things today(if you don't know me, here is my website) but what you don't know is that for the longest time I actually avoided learning Product design starting from 2017, infact it's one of the reasons I was doing only graphic design during the early stages of my career.

Why? When I started learning design, I would go to Pinterest on my phone and I would see very beautiful UI Images, they were so perfect in form, I didn't actually know there was anything called UX or UI, to be honest, I heard the term in 2018 for the first time. These designs were so perfect that whenever I tried to match their standard, I just made rubbish and I was so frustrated that at some point I thought it was not for me.

200w.gif

I did graphic design for about 3 years before going back to UI design but now I had learn the design basics that would have fixed my problem years ago, maybe I'll be somewhere bigger who knows I am here now but look at me today with successful user interface projects from Websites to applications and I reckon there's no interface I can't make now, it might take more time for the complex ones.

The point is sometimes it will feel like this, like you don't know what you are doing, like you will never be among "the greats", like your design will never get a "wow" comment, or whatever the equivalent of that validation is in your career. IT IS A LIE.

A4797F08-E3A2-4FBE-82D9-1DA229629A84.gif

It might take time but if you are willing to stick to it, embrace the mess, clean your face after you've cried for not being smart enough, and know that you'll have an empty canvas first then a design that probably sucks and after like lots of iterations you might end up with THE ONE—you most likely will not though because at that point you'd always want something better.

This is the process for all of us, we suck at first when learning new things then we suck a little less until one day you just know that it's not that you really suck, your work just sucks because of the place you are in your journey and one day you might actually make work that you'll know objectively that it's good.

it-is.gif

But till then, take a break like me if you have to, there is time lol or if you wanna take it by the bull’s horn, go back to it and see if there is a different approach, talk to a more experienced person in your field and get guidance.

Also, don't forget to evaluate, sometimes you've not gotten to where you are going but you have gone a long way. There will always be room for improvement but you can be a masterpiece and a work in progress at the same time. I hope this empty canvas inspires you to reflect today as it has me.

download (5).jpeg

cheers.